1 September 2026 was a heavy date on the disability benefits calendar. It was the day the federal regulations enabling the new $150 Canada Disability Benefit supplement came into force. The regulations pay most entitled people from that month, and the first payments went out on 17 September 2026. It is also another month of an arithmetic that only exists in one province. Nine of the thirteen provinces and territories have confirmed the Canada Disability Benefit is exempt income that will not reduce provincial or territorial disability assistance. Alberta counts it and deducts it. Prince Edward Island has not confirmed an exemption in anything it publishes, and Yukon and Nunavut have not stated a position, so check your own jurisdiction rather than assuming.
If you or someone you support receives AISH or the new ADAP in Alberta, or you are anywhere in Canada waiting on the supplement, here is the plain version of what is coming and what to check now.
The $150 supplement, and who gets it when
The federal government amended the Canada Disability Benefit Regulations to add a supplemental payment of $150. The amendments were registered as SOR/2026-123 on 12 June 2026 and published in the Canada Gazette, Part II, on 1 July 2026. They came into force on 1 September 2026. The payment recognizes a real barrier at the front door of the program: to qualify for the benefit you need the Disability Tax Credit, a medical practitioner has to certify your disability’s effects, and practitioners generally charge for that. The $150 is meant to offset those certification costs.
Three details worth knowing. The supplement is a lump sum, not a monthly increase. It is payable for each Disability Tax Credit certification or re-certification that results in entitlement to a payment, so people whose DTC eligibility is temporary and has to be renewed can receive it again when they re-certify. And it goes out in three phases, not two. Phase one, September 2026, covers everyone who received a payment in the program’s first payment period, 1 July 2025 to 30 June 2026, including people who have since stopped receiving payments. Phase two, February 2027, covers two groups: people whose first payment lands between 1 July 2026 and 31 January 2027, and people who were re-certified for the Disability Tax Credit while receiving a payment between 1 July 2025 and 31 January 2027. Phase three runs from March 2027 onward, and from then the supplement travels with the event rather than the calendar: a new recipient is paid it in the same month as their first benefit payment, and anyone re-certified is paid it once the Canada Revenue Agency has notified Service Canada of the re-certification and Service Canada has confirmed continuing entitlement.
The monthly benefit itself sits at a maximum of $204.20 for the July 2026 to June 2027 payment period, which works out to $2,450.40 over the twelve months. Canada.ca publishes the monthly maximum, not the annual total. That is about $6.71 a day.
Alberta stands alone
canadadisabilitybenefit.ca, an information hub run by the national non-profit Plan Institute, tracks how each province and territory treats the federal benefit, and its list is stark. British Columbia, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Ontario, Quebec, all of Atlantic Canada and all three territories have confirmed no clawback: the Canada Disability Benefit does not reduce their disability assistance. Alberta is the only jurisdiction that announced it would claw the benefit back, reducing AISH by the amount of the federal payment. One narrow exception sits inside that. Plan Institute, not the province, records that the benefit “will, however, be treated as exempt income for AISH recipients who are eligible to receive a Modified Living Allowance,” meaning their AISH benefit is not reduced by the amount of the federal payment. Alberta does not define Modified Living Allowance on its public AISH and ADAP terms and definitions page, so if you think it might apply to you, ask your AISH office directly rather than trying to work it out from the website.
The province has defended this on the basis that its rates are already the country’s highest. Defending the decision to CBC News in March 2025, the then Minister of Seniors, Community and Social Services, Jason Nixon, said Alberta had “already exceeded what the federal government has asked us to do,” pointing to a single-person AISH payment of $1,901 a month against a federal minimum he put at $1,811. The portfolio has since changed hands and been renamed: Nathan Neudorf was sworn in as Minister of Assisted Living and Social Services on 21 May 2026, and that is the ministry that runs both AISH and ADAP. In the same report, a federal spokesperson said Ottawa had called on provinces and territories to exempt Canada Disability Benefit payments from counting as income against provincial supports, while acknowledging that provinces decide. NDP MLA Marie Renaud, the critic for community and social services, said of the people who had written to her that the clawback “makes the difference between food bank usage or not.”
Alberta also requires AISH recipients to apply for the federal benefit, and ADAP’s own program page instructs recipients to report the approval or denial of their Canada Disability Benefit and Disability Tax Credit applications to the program. In other words, applying is not optional in Alberta, even though the dollars do not stay on top of the provincial cheque.
The Alberta ground shifted in July, and shifted again in August
The clawback now sits inside a bigger reorganization we covered when the transition began: the new Alberta Disability Assistance Program (ADAP) became operational on 2 July 2026 and many working-age AISH recipients transitioned to it during July, while AISH continues for people assessed as permanently unable to work. The core numbers, from the province’s own ADAP fact sheet of 23 July 2026: ADAP’s core benefit is $1,740 a month. AISH clients who moved across in July receive a $200 monthly transition benefit that, the province says, keeps their financial benefit the same as their existing AISH amount until 31 December 2027. The transition benefit is written for those clients only, so someone coming to ADAP fresh receives the $1,740 core rate with no top-up. The AISH General Regulation has been updated and now applies to both AISH and ADAP, with the detailed rules sitting in the AISH and ADAP policy manual, so confirm your own figure with your worker rather than with a rate table you saw earlier in the year. The province also set out who stayed on AISH automatically: people with a severe and profound developmental disability or who were eligible for or receiving Persons with Developmental Disabilities services, people with palliative or terminal medical conditions, people living in continuing care homes, and people aged 60 or older. Those clients were identified and notified before July and did not have to take any action.
Two more changes applied from the August 2026 benefit period. Couples where both adults receive disability income assistance each receive 88 per cent of the maximum individual rate rather than two full individual rates. And child benefit rates have been recalibrated: $300 for the first child, $117 for the second, $88 for the third, $59 for the fourth and $30 for each additional child. The province says the recalibrated child rates will increase benefits for roughly 7,000 families; the couples change is a reduction for two-adult households. One change runs the other way: since July 2026 the first $1,200 of a spouse’s or cohabiting partner’s pension income is fully exempt, and 25 per cent of the remainder is exempt as well.
Work income exemptions also differ by program now: an AISH single or parent can earn $350 a month before benefits are affected, an ADAP single $700, an ADAP parent $1,100, and an AISH or ADAP cohabiting partner $1,500. The monthly exemption is not the ceiling, and that distinction is the one that catches people. Above $700 a month, ADAP benefits are reduced on a sliding scale that starts at less than a cent on the dollar and steepens as employment income approaches $45,000 a year. The province puts the outer limit at $45,240 of annual employment income, above which the financial benefit stops. Health benefits continue regardless of employment income.
What to check now
Wherever you live, confirm your Disability Tax Credit status is current, because both the benefit and the supplement hang off it. If you received any Canada Disability Benefit payment between July 2025 and June 2026, the $150 went out on 17 September 2026; if your first payment came after 1 July 2026, expect it in February 2027 instead. There is no separate application for the supplement.
In Alberta, three more items. Report your federal application outcome to your AISH or ADAP office, since the province requires it. If you are half of a couple where both partners receive AISH or ADAP, look at your August and September statements closely, because the 88 per cent recalculation applies from the August benefit period. Alberta’s own Disability Income Assistance page says that if your payment has changed it may be down to the new benefit calculations, and points clients to the AISH and ADAP benefit estimator, to the income information on the payment statement, and to their local office for an explanation of the calculation. That local office is the first call, and if you do not know which one is yours, the Alberta Supports Contact Centre is 1-877-644-9992. For an emergency, Alberta’s Income Support Contact Centre assesses urgent need for food, temporary shelter, medication, medical supplies and transportation at 1-866-644-5135, which the province lists as open 24 hours every day; it is an emergency financial assistance line, not a benefit-enquiry line. And if you moved to ADAP in July but believe AISH fits your situation, the province says it will cover the cost of one medical assessment for AISH clients who transitioned to ADAP in July and later choose to be assessed for AISH. The commitment is written for that group; it is not an offer to everyone applying for AISH. Do not rush it on the strength of the transition date. Alberta’s own fact sheet says that support “is not time-limited and will be available whenever clients choose to access it”, so 31 December 2027 is the end of the $200 top-up, not a deadline for getting assessed.
None of this is advice about your individual file; benefit outcomes depend on your income and circumstances. For one-on-one help, Plan Institute runs a free national Disability Planning Helpline at 1-844-311-7526, and the official program pages linked below carry the current figures. Build in time: the helpline’s own page says an advisor calls back within four to eight business days, and that high demand is currently pushing that to ten, so a question tied to the August or September benefit period is worth asking now rather than at the deadline.
Frequently asked questions
Which provinces claw back the Canada Disability Benefit?
Alberta is the only jurisdiction that announced it would claw the benefit back, reducing AISH by the amount of the federal payment. Most provinces and territories have confirmed the Canada Disability Benefit is exempt income that will not reduce their disability assistance. Prince Edward Island has not confirmed an exemption in anything it publishes, and Yukon and Nunavut have not stated a position. Check your own jurisdiction with the program that administers your assistance rather than assuming.
What is the $150 Canada Disability Benefit supplement?
It is a lump sum rather than a monthly increase. The amendments creating it were registered as SOR/2026-123 on 12 June 2026, published in the Canada Gazette, Part II, on 1 July 2026, and came into force on 1 September 2026. It offsets the cost of the medical certification the Disability Tax Credit requires, since practitioners generally charge for it. It is payable for each certification or re-certification that results in entitlement to a payment, so people whose eligibility is temporary and has to be renewed can receive it again when they re-certify.
When is the $150 supplement paid?
It goes out in three phases. Phase one, September 2026, covers everyone who received a payment in the program’s first payment period of 1 July 2025 to 30 June 2026, including people who have since stopped receiving payments. Phase two, February 2027, covers people whose first payment lands between 1 July 2026 and 31 January 2027, and people re-certified for the Disability Tax Credit while receiving a payment between 1 July 2025 and 31 January 2027. From March 2027 the supplement travels with the event rather than the calendar. The first payments went out on 17 September 2026.
How much is the Canada Disability Benefit each month?
The monthly benefit sits at a maximum of $204.20 for the July 2026 to June 2027 payment period, which works out to $2,450.40 over the twelve months, or about $6.71 a day. Canada.ca publishes the monthly maximum rather than the annual total. Confirm the amount you are entitled to with Service Canada rather than with a rate table.
What changed in Alberta with AISH and ADAP in 2026?
The Alberta Disability Assistance Program became operational on 2 July 2026 and many working-age AISH recipients transitioned to it during July, while AISH continues for people assessed as permanently unable to work. The province’s ADAP fact sheet of 23 July 2026 puts the core benefit at $1,740 a month, with a $200 monthly transition benefit for AISH clients who moved across in July that the province says keeps their financial benefit the same until 31 December 2027. Someone coming to ADAP fresh receives the $1,740 core rate with no top-up. Confirm your own figure with your worker.
Sources:
- Regulations Amending the Canada Disability Benefit Regulations, Canada Gazette, Part II, 1 July 2026
- Will the CDB Affect Other Benefits?, Plan Institute, canadadisabilitybenefit.ca
- The CDB and AISH, Plan Institute, canadadisabilitybenefit.ca
- Alberta to claw back federal disability benefit from AISH recipients, CBC News, 26 March 2025
- Alberta Disability Assistance Program (ADAP), Alberta.ca
- Alberta Disability Assistance Program fact sheet, Government of Alberta, 23 July 2026 (PDF)
- Assured Income for the Severely Handicapped (AISH), Alberta.ca
- Disability Planning Helpline, Plan Institute
- What the Changes to AISH and ADAP Mean for Disabled Albertans, Plan Institute, 23 July 2026
- About the Canada Disability Benefit program, Canada.ca. Source for the statement that there is no need to apply for the supplemental amount.
- Minister of Assisted Living and Social Services, Alberta.ca. Source for Nathan Neudorf’s appointment on 21 May 2026.
- Disability Income Assistance, Alberta.ca. Source for what the province says about changed benefit amounts.
- Emergency financial assistance, Alberta.ca. Source for the Income Support Contact Centre number and hours.
- AISH and ADAP terms and definitions, Alberta.ca






